Creative writing in English can be easier than any other kinds of writing. When you write creatively, you can play with grammar, and even break some rules. Creative writing is free and inventive.

Take, for example, this paragraph I wrote about an experience I had when I was little:

Barefeet, white dress. In the garden. It is golden. My mother has planted flowers, dogwood. After she dies we will burn her body and put the ashes underneath the tree. When she talks like that I am seasick.
White dog. Pretty, little thing. We are the same, we are kindred. Green, green grass. Ticklish on my little girl feet. I have been here before. Or rather, some place like it. When the air sings a certain way, and the light from the sun plays with the grass, I remember. A time of non-existence. I reach for the misty opening between worlds and I fall. Down, down on the green ground. Now the memory of the other place is even more remote, before it was just beyond.
Later I wonder if I imagined it.

In this piece, some of my sentences are fragments.

“Barefeet, white dress.”

In persuasive writing, this sentence would be “grammatically incorrect.” However, because I am writing in my voice, and in a creative way, this fragment is alright. It’s poetic, more poetic than a long and perfectly constructed sentence. It evokes a place and a time. It shows, rather than tells.

In this piece, there is no logical structure.

Since I was five years old when I walked in the garden and reached for another world, my writing reflects my five year old self and voice. Five years olds rarely think coherently, and the writing shows that. Creative writing is a place where we can break free of logic and simply express.

I don’t begin by explaining what I am going to talk about.

In analytical writing, we often begin with a thesis, a clear and coherent argument. We help the reader understand where we will take them. Creative writing is just the opposite. Creative writers take readers on a journey, they lead them through a mystery. I began this piece with a descriptive fragment that piques the reader’s interest.

I use repetition.

“Down, down on the green ground.”

A critic could say that this is a redundant (repetitive) fragment! Perhaps they would be right. I use repetition because it makes the language more musical, and music is extremely powerful. Music takes us to other worlds. I also use alliteration. Alliteration is the repetition of consonants that begin words. For example, “green ground” and “down, down”. Alliteration is very commonly used in the English language. It is an integral part of the English oral and literary tradition. The use of alliteration in English signals something old, maybe even ancient. It also reminds us that before there was writing, there were storytellers who went around and told stories out-loud.

I am not the only writer to break rules and play with conventions! Take E.E. Cummings, for example:

since feeling is first…

since feeling is first
who pays any attention
to the syntax of things
will never wholly kiss you;

wholly to be a fool
while Spring is in the world

my blood approves,
and kisses are a better fate
than wisdom
lady i swear by all flowers. Don’t cry
– the best gesture of my brain is less than
your eyelids’ flutter which says

we are for each other; then
laugh, leaning back in my arms
for life’s not a paragraph

And death i think is no parenthesis

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post! Now, sit down and write, write, write. Don’t forget to send it to me at ahoffman@languageetc.org

